Park Yu Chun – An Introduction

Published May 1, 2013 by pink sapphire

Park Yu Chun is a Korean artiste, a member of of the Korean singing group JYJ. He is also known as Micky Yoochun,  a former member of TVXQ/Tohoshinki.

The first time that I came across this name was in 2011 (probably in July), during the voting period for the Seoul Drama Awards. Then I was voting for Jang Keun Suk and I wondered who was this other guy in Sungkyunkwan Scandal who always manages to receive so many votes over the rest. He was not bad-looking, but didn’t look very handsome too. Then someone close to me said that he had the support of Cassies (members of TVXQ fanclub Cassopeia) and it really seemed like there were lots of them. And with regard to TVXQ, the only thing I know about them then was that they sang the theme song A Thousand Year Love Song for the Korean drama The Legend, which I had watched in 2008.

Later on, I saw Yuchun with his group JYJ singing in the Lotte Duty Free CF song I’m so Loving You with Hyun Bin, Jang Keun Suk and Kim Hyun Joong.

Can’t remember when I saw Sungkyunkwan Scandal DVD on sale at local shops but it was for quite sometime even though I had heard that it was a good drama to watch. I usually do not buy the DVD unless I know and like the story or the casts. So finally in September 2011, I chose the  Sungkyunkwan Scandal DVD as my free gift when I purchased two other dramas. But I didn’t get to watch the drama until a month later. I had some initial resistance. The publisher should have used a more attractive picture of Yuchun on the cover! Anyway, I started watching and before long I got to love the character Lee Son Jun and the actor Park Yuchun.

I searched on the internet and found out much about him . He went to USA with his family when he was at grade 6 and attended middle school and high school in Fairfax, Virginia. In 2003, he left the Sates alone for South Korea when he got a contract with SM Entertainment in Korea. In December 2003, he debuted as Micky Yoochun with the group TVXQ. In 2005, the group went over to Japan to start as Tohoshinki. In 2009, he left SM Entertainment with two other members Kim Jae Joong and Kim Jun Su and they debuted as JYJ in 2010.

I went on to listen and like the songs from TVXQ aand JYJ and watched TVXQ’s old Banjun dramas and variety shows. The songs from TVXQ that I like include Begin, Don’t Say Goodbye, Love in the Ice, Like Weather, Mirotic, Puple Line, With All My Heart and Breakout. From JYJ, I like Fallen Leaves, I Love You, In Heaven and Found You. I like Yu Chun’s solos and his duets with Jaejoong the best. I like YuChun’s original compositions like Like Weather and Love Bye Love; his covers like One Last Cry, She, How Deep is Your Love and Magic Castle; and his duets Colors~Melody and Harmony, Shelter and Rainy Blue. I really like YuChun’s voice and singing –  it’s low and husky, gentle and soothing yet sexy and smooth with a tint of sadness.

Leave a Reply

